Canadians: Shaw Digital Cable or Bell ExpressVu?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Karim Nogas, Sep 8, 2001.

1. Karim Nogas

Karim Nogas Stunt Coordinator

I currently have a Sony 53XBR300 that is 1080i capable but requires some sort of processor or something to connect to the DTV outputs on the back.
    Sony is selling ExpressVu dishes so the $799 model would work with the XBR. Unfortunately, there is limited HDTV programming (no MNF!!!).
    I have no experience with digital cable, but it is certainly cheaper than going with the dish, both monthly and installation.
    With the new digital channels, it seems like a good time to consider making the switch from basic cable.
    Movies, sports, news and weekly dramas would be the main time of viewing.
    NHL Centre Ice sounds sweet... [​IMG]
    Any thoughts on which way to go would be greatly appreciated.

2. Francois Caron

Francois Caron Cinematographer

Francois Caron
    Our condo building just got a common dish installed last month. I researched the offerings between Bell ExpressVu, Star Choice, Vidéotron Digital Cable and Look.
    Look was already going out of business. Plus, their system was already running up to full capacity.
    Vidéotron digital cabe is way overpriced for what they offered. Plus the customer support is atrocious as it was confirmed once again by a neighbour this morning.
    Star Choice was an option, but my e-mails were left unanswered. If a company doesn't answer my e-mails within a reasonable delay, that company doesn't take the Internet very seriously. Also, their channel package lineup is a mess. Many of the packages have channels that don't necessarily belong together.