Can you mix Ram?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by PatB, Oct 24, 2003.

  1. PatB

    PatB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wanted to add another 256 MB to my PC and I just wanted to be sure about something: Right now I have 256MB of PC-2700 Samsung Ram. I know that the new module also has to be PC-2700 but my question is, does it also have to be Samsung? I was looking at the prices of Crucial, Kingston, Corsair and they're all quite reasonable so I'm wondering if mixing Ram brands is going to cause any problems at all. Thanks.
     
  2. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think it would cause any problems. I've got a couple of thrown together machines that I just used whatever RAM I could find. It reads it all fine and I've never had any RAM related problems that I know of.
     
  3. Adam Bluhm

    Adam Bluhm Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd be more worried about matching up speeds than manufaturers. Mixing Samsung and Crucial should be fine if they're the same speed.
     
  4. brentl

    brentl Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd also check the CAS latency of the Samsung BEFORE you but the other ram. If you have a Samsung that's CAS2 and buy a cheap stick of ram with a CAS3 rating you'll be wasting the better ram..

    B
     
  5. PatB

    PatB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which is better the CAS2 or the CAS3?
     
  6. PatB

    PatB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    And as far as speed goes, another stick of 2700 is fine as far as I know, correct?
     

Share This Page