Can you help out a newbie?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Todd P, Mar 1, 2002.

1. Todd P

Todd P Auditioning

Ok I'm new to this hobby and to this board and I'm looking for some guidance.

This is what I have coming next week:

Yamaha - HTR-5450

Sony - SAVE325

This is what I already have:

Pioneer DVD Player - DV333

50" Pioneer TV (10 yrs old but it was given to me)

Dish Satelite with PVR coming soon.

My questions are:

What are some good cables and speaker wire to use?

(I don't need the best because I don't really have the best ewuipment I just want something that's going to work well with what I have)

Where's the best place to put a subwoofer?

Where do I install my rear satelites near the ceiling or closer to where we will be sitting? Does that make sence?

What is the best way to hook up all of my goodies?

What are some good installing links for beginners?

Thanks in advance.

Todd

2. Christopher Collins

Radio Shack cables are nice and cheap and will get the job done for most of the basic needs. There will always be a heated debate over the impact of cabling on your audio / video experience. I wouldn’t give it allot of thought unless you are absolutely fanatical. The better shielding on some of the monster connects can help if you live in an older house or have allot of other devices around that give off interference.
    Home Depot / Lowes for speaker wire. You can tell them exactly how many feet you want and that’s what you pay for. Last time I was there they had white, brown and clear.
    Setting everything up ...
    http://www.hometheateradvice.com/setup.shtml
    http://www.htcal.com/articles.htm
    The AVIA http://www.ovationsw.com/ DVD IS also very helpful for setting up and calibrating your system.
    The guys here are very helpful as well. You might want to do a search on the forum for some of these topics. I have found answers to most of my questions just by searching old posts.
    Hope that helps !