What's new

Can you get quality sound from home built subs? (1 Viewer)

RickBlacker

Stunt Coordinator
I am very new to all this and am interested in all this DIY stuff I have been reading tonight. Thus I am wanting to find out more information about quality sound and DIY subs.

I have a Klipsch RSW12 sub. It really kicks butt. I have no complaints at all. So, my question is this, I have seen several links on building you own subs. Can someone build their own and have it sound as good at the Klipsch RSW12?

Here are some of the specs on the RSW12. Can you produce the same punch and clarity with a much less cost?

FREQUENCY RESPONSE: 22-120Hz±3dB

MAXIMUM ACOUSTIC OUTPUT: 119dB @ 30Hz 1/8 space, 1 meter

ENCLOSURE TYPE: Bass reflex via passive radiator

AMPLIFIER: BASH® digital hybrid

AMPLIFIER POWER: 2400 watts dynamic power / 1000 watts continuous power

AUTO POWER ON: 2 second ON delay, 15 minute OFF delay

LOW PASS CROSSOVER: Continuously variable from 40-120Hz, 36dB/octave slope above 120Hz

INPUTS: 2) Line level RCA phono jacks, Lowpass Enable / Disable switch for LFE mode

OUTPUTS: 2) Line level RCA phono jacks (unfiltered)

PHASE: Switchable 0 or 180 degrees

DRIVE COMPONENTS: Subwoofer system using one 12" (30.48cm) rear-firing, aluminum cone woofer and one 12" (30.48cm) front-firing, aluminum cone passive radiator

WOOFER: K-1113-T 12" (30.48cm) Cerametallic® cone, cast aluminum frame active / KD-124-T 12" (30.48cm) Cerametallic® cone, cast aluminum frame passive

Joe Meissner

Stunt Coordinator