What's new

Can you burn SACD and dvd audio discs? (1 Viewer)

Tim Dogg

Agent
For backup copies of course!If it can be done do you loose any sound quality between the two? Thanks Tim

Phil A

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Phil
From what I understand (I am no computer expert) there is stuff out there that would allow the making of DVD-As (not SACD at the moment). I am not sure that it allows the capturing of data in the digital domain (I could be wrong). So it might be a bit better quality than one could get making a CD-R via analog connections but I personally have not seen stuff that will do what you are looking to. You may want to look at posts by real experts (not me) in the DVD-A section of audioasylum.com. I'm sure John Kotches is much more up on this stuff than just about anyone as well.

John Kotches

Senior HTF Member
Dennis,

Discwelder has the SurCode MLP option, so if you're willing to pony up the $2495, you can purchase an MLP encoder and use it yourself.

You have to get DiscWelder Chrome too, which means the total price is $4490 when bundled together.

So it is out of reach of most, but to say that MLP encoders aren't made public is a bit inaccurate :)

Cheers,

Will_B

Senior HTF Member
There are programs (about $20) which can extract audio from DVDs (and if need be, downmix from 5.1 to 2, which is useful if you love a concert dvd but want to play theaudio in your car), but the only audio that can be extracted at present is the video-compliant audio track from a DVD or DVD-A. (Many DVD-As include a DVD video-compliant audio track, but this isn't really what you were looking for).

Short answer: No.