1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Can two Videocards be on the same computer...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Gary Neuwirth, May 24, 2002.

  1. Gary Neuwirth

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    10
    Need some help...I currently have a MX400 64mb Videocard using the agp slot. I bought an ATI AIW 16mb pci card for it's capture/tv features. Can they both coexist? I'm running WinME on a PentIV 1.6..asus MB.

    Thanks
     
  2. Chris Bardon

    Chris Bardon Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Depends on the OS. I think that XP can support multiple adapters will full features, but I'm not positive on that. I wanted to do the same thing a couple years back, and found out that Windows does support multiple graphics cards for multiple display systems, but that the 2nd card will only function as a standard VGA adapter. This means that all of the capture functionality for the ATI wouldn't work.

    Best solution-pick up an ATI TV Wonder (PCI)-it's just a standalone capture board.
     
  3. Bill Slack

    Bill Slack Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 1999
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's up to the driver what the 2nd card will support. The standard drivers that come with Windows often don't have multiple monitor support, but work fine if you download OEM drivers.

    3D usually only works on your primary card.
     
  4. Rob Speicher

    Rob Speicher Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2000
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can't have two AGP cards, obviously, since there's only one slot. But you can have an AGP video card and a PCI video card at the same time just fine. I do it to support dual monitors.
     
  5. AllanN

    AllanN Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should be able to get both cards to run multiple displays, but the AIW capture will only run if its the primary card. You might be able to set the PCI buss and the primary card is your BIOS that might work.
     

Share This Page