can someone explain...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by john waring, Nov 20, 2001.

1. john waring

john waring Agent

Hi,I am a newbie to home theater. I am looking for someone to explain the order of connections.I have an older TV a toshiba 27" . I have an AVR510 Harmon Kardon reciever. I have my 5 speakers and a sub. I will be getting my dvd soon. I am using a cable system right now but will be switching to satelite next july.I am just wondering the best way to connect all this and if there is any special wires or cables I might need. Thanks

2. Sheldon

Sheldon Stunt Coordinator

Hi John:I also have the AVR510.Tell me exactly what inputs and outputs you have on the back of your tv and I'll get back to you with how I have mine hooked up.[​IMG]

3. john waring

john waring Agent

Hi thx for answering. On the back of tv its like this ,i HAVE A PLACE FOR CABLE IN . (COAX) I HAVE THREE HOLES ON TOP FOR AUDIO VIDEO INPUT .RIGHT -LEFT -VIDEO. BELOW THOSE THREE HOLES I HAVE 2 HOLES FOR AUDIO OUTPUT (VARIABLE) .RIGHT -LEFT . THANKS

4. Sheldon

John[​IMG]o you have any other equip that you wish to hook up ie:VCR or other amps? You have a total of 5 ? plugs excluding cable hookup in the rear of your tv? Yellow,White,and Red ?

5. john waring

john waring Agent

HI,YES I have 5 plugs like you say. Oh ya I do have a hitachi vcr that will be hooked up.

6. john waring

john waring Agent

Hey sheldon, thx for your help. I am anxious to hear your reply. However ,I must be goin to work and I will check here when I get home. I recieve my reciever on thursday (supposedly) Can't wait. Have you ever heard of Messina speakers? They are made in Quebec ,Canada. Thx again,j

7. Sheldon

John:I'll be going home from work in about 2.5 hours so it won't be until tomm until I can get back to you.As for the Messina speakers,I haven't of them before.I don't think that they are sold anywhere here.Do they have a website?

8. john waring

john waring Agent