What's new

Can someone explain to me IMPEDENCE ? (1 Viewer)

Jim Carr

Stunt Coordinator
Keep in mind I'm a HT newb ;)
Learning as fast as I can.. but there is alot to take in! lol. I don't understand impedence.. can someone explain it using the smallest words possible? Ok maybe not the smallest words.. but keep it simple for a novice like myself can understand :)
thanks alot!
Jim

Tom D

Stunt Coordinator
in simplest terms, impedence = resistance. Typically used when stating speaker impedence (resistance). The average speaker is rated at 8 ohms for example, now this is an average rating, because the impedence changes with frequency or the load that you are trying to reproduce. The lower the resistance the closer you are to a short cct. So in terms of amplifiers, the power ratings are averaged to 8 ohm loads, but the important number to look at is the 4 ohm loadpower rating because that gives you a good idea about the power supply. If you half the load, you should be able to double the power. If you familiarize yourself with ohms law then it becomes a little clearer on what the specs are trying to tell you.
Ohms Law: Voltage = Resistance x Current, Wattage = Voltage x Current
In a nut shell, hope this helps.;)

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
IMPEDANCE IN AUDIO TECHNOLOGY
by Marty McCann