What's new

can somebody help i'm feeling a little dumb (1 Viewer)

Boaty McBoatface

Second Unit
Real Name
Billy Posey
I currently a electrical engineering student, I been envolved in electronics since the beginning of high school, and have been an audio enthusiast since I can remember and I have spent the last couple of years researching diy speaker kits and plans. But there is that I am embarrased to admit that don't comepletely understand what is meant when one tunes an enclosure to a certain frequency. Can some one help me on this? Thanks
------------------

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor
I'm by no means an expert, but I'll take a stab. Only ported enclosures are "tuned". This refers to the resonant frequency of the port. Like the tone made when you blow over a coke bottle, ports have a resonant frequency depending on their diameter and legnth. This resonance helps the driver extend lower than it would in a sealed box.

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
The way I think of it is that driver excursion goes up as the frequency goes down. With a ported enclosure as you get closer to the tuning frequency the driver's excursion begins to go down again. This is because the driver is starting to unload on the port (or passiver radiators). As you get closer to the tuning frequency the driver is unloading more on the port. Until you get to the tuning frequency of the port at which point the driver has completely unloaded on the port (at this point in a passive radiator system the driver is hardly moving and the passive radiator is flailing away). Then as you go below the tuning frequency driver excursion rises at a significantly faster rate than a sealed box would.