What's new

Can itunes work with non-ipod mp3 players? (1 Viewer)

Jon_Are

Senior HTF Member
I'm posting here in computers because this is more a software issue than anything else.

We have two ipods and two other mp3 players in our house, and we use all of them. The ipods are new, so I'm new to itunes (previously used Musicmatch Jukebox). I'm trying to organize and coordinate my music files. I'd like to use itunes exclusively, but I have a feeling it won't play well with the other mp3s.

Is there a way to make this work?

If so, how do I go about loading tunes (mp3 format) onto the non-ipods via itunes?

Thanks,

Jon

Paul McElligott

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Paul McElligott
Right now, iTunes will only sync with iPods. Officially. There are supposedly hacks that can get around this but I haven't heard anything solid about them.

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield

iTunes does not require that the music files it manages to be in AAC format. It handles MP3 files natively, too. All 9,000+ music files I've encoded and manage within iTunes are MP3 format.

Like Paul, I seem to remember reading of some hacks to iTunes to allow it to see certain non-iPod MP3 players, but I cannot remember all the details. You may want to do a search of the iTunes forum on www.ilounge.com .

Kimmo Jaskari

Screenwriter
C.R.A.P. is bad for everyone. Like now, when Jon would like to be able to use his legally aquired music on all his devices, not just one type at a time. That the site happened to be a P2P-friendly one has nothing to do with anything.

MarkHastings

Senior HTF Member
But the only DRM music you have to worry about is the stuff you've purchased from iTunes. Other than that, iTunes and iPods still work with MP3's (from other sites) and will also compress CD's into AAC without DRM.

So it's really only a big issue if you allow it to be.

Darryl

Stunt Coordinator