1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Can I use progressive scan dvd...

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Dave Borgman, Aug 17, 2003.

  1. Dave Borgman

    Dave Borgman Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    player on a Sony KV36FS100 standard definition TV? I think i read somewhere that you couldn't but I am not sure. Just wondering because Best Buy has a polaroid dvd recorder for 399 and it is progressive scan.

    Thanks
    Dave
     
  2. Josh Q S

    Josh Q S Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can turn progressive scan on or off. If you have a standard, non-progressive TV (interlaced) you won't notice any difference, providing the TV doesn't reject the progressive signal.
     
  3. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That tv won't display a progressive scan input, but you can turn off progressive scan on the dvd recorder so that's not a problem.
     
  4. Dave Borgman

    Dave Borgman Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the answers. So with progressive scanned turned off the display will be just like the normal DVD player I have now? (which is pretty good I think). Will I have any problem getting to the menu on the DVD player to turn progressive scan off? Or is the menu just interlaced and its not progressive until you hit play?

    Thanks again,

    Dave
     
  5. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can toggle between progressive scan and interlaced either via a switch on the chassis and/or in the player's set-up menu.
     
  6. RoyGBiv

    RoyGBiv Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just one word of caution. If the recorder's progressive mode is set through a setup menu, DON'T SET IT TO PROGRESSIVE MODE even just to "see what happens." I know of people who have done so, and they can't then see how to reverse it. One friend had this happen and had to take the DVD player to my house to connect it to my HDTV and change the settings back to interlaced mode.

    SMK
     

Share This Page