What's new

Can I use Parasound Parasound HCA-1500A Amp & pl/d 1100 preamp w/AV reciever? (1 Viewer)

Kevin_Breeze

Second Unit
What I would want to do is use the preamp & amp for 2-ch music (my CD and tape inputs) but still use my HK AVR7000 receiver hooked up for surround -having the dvd player hooked to to my receiver while still having the HC-15000A driving the front two speakers while the receiver driving the center and rear speakers...not sure if that would all work in conjunction ok?

Kevin T

Screenwriter
if the preamp has a ht bypass or unity gain feature you can. otherwise you'll experience some problems that can be rectified but not easily.

kevin t

BruceD

Screenwriter
Kevin_B,

No problem!! You don't really need an HT bypass. All you need is for the AV receiver to have preamp outs for L&R mains (your HK should be high-end enough to provide this).

I've been doing the same thing for the last 5 years. You can check out my connections in my equipment link below.

Essentially I take the L&R HT processor outputs and route them to a L&R audio input pair on the 1100 (I use the L&R analog audio input pair labeled video). My CD player is connected to the Direct input pair on the 1100.

When I use the system for 2-channel, I never even turn the HT processor on.

The only caveat is that the volume control for the PL/D 1100 preamp may be different for 2-channel and HT listening. It should be set to the 12 o'clock position for HT speaker calibration (essentially runs as unity gain in this position).

For my setup, the PL/D 1100 volume control is used at 9 o'clock for 2-channel music and 12 o'clock for HT.

Kevin_Breeze

Second Unit
I heard that there is a dead spot in the bass on one review at audio review.com that was aproblem b/c their is no EQ on the unit, is that why you got and EQ for your sub?

BruceD

Screenwriter
I don't believe anything @audioreview anyway.

I'm not sure what you mean by "dead spot in the bass"?