What's new

Can I run this amazing monitor with my MacBook Pro? (1 Viewer)

Ronald Epstein

Founder
Owner
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ronald Epstein
Asset1.jpg

My Hardware: 2019 16" MBP; AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB; Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB

I am not a gamer and have no interest in it

Currently, I have two 27" 4k monitors on my desk that I hook up to my Macbook Pro via Caldigit dock

I want this display. It looks completely awesome. However, before I invest $1700 to buy it I have a few questions as I am a complete novice at monitors and how to set them up resolution-wise

1. Can my Macbook Pro drive this huge monitor?
2. With a Caldigit dock, I am guessing I use a display cable from monitor to dock and a single USB-C from the dock to Macbook? Or will I need a TB3 cable?
3. What would the resolution settings be on my Macbook Pro? Specifically, I would need to know if it would run on DEFAULT or SCALED and if SCALED, what specific settings
4. What settings would I have to change the monitor to? The video I have included below does go into display settings the reviewer deemed optimal but I am wondering if it is going to be the same for the Mac (as he is running Windows)

I am going to be using this monitor strictly for email, spreadsheets, iMovie editing, and web browsing. Would this monitor be appropriate for that purpose? I don't like the two 27" monitors I am currently running only because they don't wrap around my peripheral vision.

Note: This is currently unavailable for purchase as of last week due to Samsung doing a recall on the monitor. I expect it will be back in the marketplace shortly.​

Last edited:

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
From just a pixel perspective a recent mac should have no problem running that monitor, as it has half the pixels of a 27" iMac.

G9: 5,120 x 1,440
iMac: 5120 x 2880

The new MBP can drive two 6K displays with resolutions of 6016 x 3384 at 60Hz