Can I replace my sub and keep my satellites?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steve Moerbe, Nov 6, 2002.

  1. Steve Moerbe

    Steve Moerbe Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am brand new to this forum, and I wish that I had found it sooner. I got a home theater system this time last year and I went with the Bose Acoustimass 10 System. Now that I have had my system for a year, I am sorely disappointed with the bass. If I purchase a different sub (maybe JBL PB10) can I successfully use the 5 satellite cube arrays that came with the Bose system? Can anyone recommend a sub for around $300USD?

    I just ordered a home theater setup dvd along with a SPL meter, but I don't think it will change the amount of bass that the Acoustimass Bass Module can reproduce. My receiver is a Sony STR-DE1075.
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    This is the key right here: Bass Module. Bose does not make subs. The bass module handles the x-over for the cubes, and if you do not have a receiver with the ability to set your x-over to something like 200Hz, you may be out of luck (I am pretty sure the cubes do not have the x-overs built into them). What you may be able to do is just set the Bose setup to small and just add a real sub to the mix.
    For your other question:
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...hreadid=104930
    Last thought, sell the Bose setup on e-bay.
     
  3. BrianWoerndle

    BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, the Bose Acoustimass Module has the crossover and power management for the satellites built in. Think of it as the woofer of a normal speaker, and the cubes ans the tweeters and midrange drivers. The satellites only reach down to 250 hz. A real sub should crossover at 120hz or below. You would have a huge gap without the Bass module. (Well, there is one there already, but why make it bigger.)

    You can just add a powered sub to the lfe out on your reciever and keep the Bose. (Remember, it it the woofer for the rest of the speakers)
     

Share This Page