Can I install Microsoft XP disc that came w/ my laptop onto my desktop?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Kevin Alexander, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. Kevin Alexander

    Kevin Alexander Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    ...or do I have to buy a completely new XP disc for my desktop? Also, if it works, will this erase all of my saved data and programs? I'd rather not have to pony up more money for another operating system. Thanks.
     
  2. Kelvin Tucker

    Kelvin Tucker Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 1999
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, MS licensing requires you to buy a new XP license/CD.

    Since you have to ask, then YES you will lose your saved data/programs. This is the safe assumption to take, so backup before doing anything.

    K
     
  3. Kevin Alexander

    Kevin Alexander Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Is that the corporate response, or is it physically not possible?
     
  4. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The software is the same, you can install the some windows on a desktop as a laptop. To be legal, you can only use one key per computer and to enforce this microsoft will associate the key to the computer with an activation code.

    If you are getting rid of your laptop you can intall windows on your desktop and call up and tell microsoft you have upgraded computers and they will redo the activation code for you.

    When you install windows, you will not lose your programs and saved files, most programs will probably not work since there is nothing about them in the registry. But all your saved files will remain as long as you don't format your harddrive. Windoms will delete the c:windows directory and recreate it and that's it.
     
  5. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Generally this is true, but not always. I have the Windows 2000 disc that came with my Dell laptop. If I put it in any other computer (or at least all the ones I've tried) it says "This CD may only be used in the Dell laptop it came with" or something like that. I'm sure there's a hack for this somewhere, but: A) I don't care, B) that shouldn't be discussed on this forum if there is one.
     
  6. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Al
    Some computers come with an "image" disk (sometimes this is even on the ard disk as drive D[​IMG], some computers come with the comercial OS. The OS option is becoming less common except from specialty vendors. But if you have one of those, you can use it on any PC architecture (laptop, desktop, or server).
     
  7. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should also check on the "restore" disks that you recieve with camputers for the windows files. Most have the entire unchanged windows setup files on the disc, but run a frontend on them to make sure that the program is only installed on the computer that it was purchased with.
     

Share This Page