Can I get 5.1 surround sound from HD cable box?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by RobEd, Jan 21, 2003.

  1. RobEd

    RobEd Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tweeter delivered a new Samsung HLM507 yesterday and the cable company installed a Scientific Atlanta Explorer 3100HD cable box today. The cable box has a coaxial digital audio output but my Yamaha RX-V630 only has optical audio inputs. Is it possible to get true 5.1 surround sound with the equipment I have? Any suggestions?
     
  2. Lee Bailey

    Lee Bailey Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central California
    Real Name:
    Lee Bailey
    You would have to find an external convertor of some kind to change from the digital coax to fiber. I find it very unusual to NOT have at least one digital coax connection. According to the Yamaha website, there is 1 digital coax connection on your unit. That would be the one to use.
     
  3. RobEd

    RobEd Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response. There is a digital coax input, but it's labeled as CD. If I use that input, is there a special cable required, or will a standard coax cable with RCA connections work?
     
  4. PaulT

    PaulT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Mike Matheson

    Mike Matheson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Rob,

    Assuming your CD input really is a digital coaxial input, you'd need a digital coaxial interconnect to hook your cable box to your receiver. Digital coaxial interconnects are specifically 75 ohms--which coincidentally is the same as a standard video interconnect (composite video). So either buy one of RS's digital coaxial interconnects (the last one I saw I think was orange) or one of their video interconnects (probably some yellow around the ends somewhere).
     
  6. RobEd

    RobEd Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestions. I stopped at the local Tweeter where I bought the Yamaha receiver and learned that I could assign the one digital coaxial input as a digital cable audio input. They took me thru the process step by step in the store and then sold me a digital cable at half price. Everything works as it should and I'm blown away to finally get 5.1 for cable broadcasts.[​IMG]
     
  7. Mike Matheson

    Mike Matheson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rob,

    Just a reminder--only a few broadcasts will actually be in 5.1 surround. Most will be 2.0. (based on how the shows are encoded)
     
  8. Dan Hine

    Dan Hine Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Rob,

    I'm glad you've got everything working. I just wanted to jump in here to say it's nice seeing more guys from this area on the board! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page