What's new

Can I do better than Axioms?($600 budget) (1 Viewer)

Mike Allen

Stunt Coordinator
Hey guys. Just found this forum a few days ago. There is so much great info here....I had to try and soak up some info before I posted :) As you will notice, I'm very new to all of this, so please go easy on me.

Anyways, I'm in the market for a pair of main speakers(floor or bookshelf) and a center channel.

They will be run off a Denon AVR-1804.

Right now, the best I've found for my money, is a pair of Axiom M22ti's, and a VP100 center.

The only concern I have is that people say the Axioms are bright. That is really something I try to avoid, but can deal with it if it's not to intense. Are there better speakers for the same price that will have a warmer feel to them? Also, I'm not going to be running a sub for now, so any suggestions on floorstanding mains with better bass would be nice.

My main listening will be TV/Home theater. Music is not as big of a factor, but I do use this room once and a while for musical listening. Is it better to have a bright set of speakers in HT use? I don't want anything so "warm" that it sounds muffled when I try to watch DVD/TV.

The room is fairly small. Maybe 15'x20'.

So....Have I done my research thoroughly? Can I get something better for the same price? I really can't go much over $600.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Mike Allen

CurtisSC

Screenwriter
Mike,

The best thing you can do right now is go out and listen to many speakers and find out what you like.

Speakers are totally subjective, it has been said many times, what one likes, someone else may not.

There are other speakers in price range that you are looking in that have different characteristics to the M22. The M22 is a fine speaker, but you should judge it on your with your own tastes.

Mike Allen

Stunt Coordinator