Can I convert component RCA to VGA?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Yumbo, Sep 5, 2001.

  1. Yumbo

    Yumbo Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 1999
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    is VGA the same thing as component?
    thanks.
    ------------------
    Yumbo - IMDVD
     
  2. Sean M

    Sean M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2000
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, since you posted the question five times, I can at least answer you once. No, component is not the same as vga. Yes, you can convert component to vga. Check www.copperbox.com for the Key Digital KD-CTC transcoder. It will convert component to vga.
    ------------------
    "Experience is the one thing you can't get for nothing." - Oscar Wilde
     
  3. Yumbo

    Yumbo Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 1999
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry for the reposts, but the server seems wonky with the hardware forum and wasn't going through.
    I guess I need to rephrase my Q - does VGA input degrade the quality of a component signal - am I compromising anything?
    My dilemma is (existing TV is 32" direct with s-video):
    1. Buy $850 32" direct view TV with VGA input, spend $350 on adapter.
    2. Buy $3,000 40" RPTV with component input.
    Any suggestions?
    thanks
    ------------------
    Yumbo - IMDVD
     
  4. Kevin Coleman

    Kevin Coleman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    No VGA is a higher quality connection than component. VGA is analog video in it's purest form.
    however the transcoder if not good quality might degrade the signal.
    Kevin C. [​IMG]
     
  5. Yumbo

    Yumbo Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 1999
    Messages:
    2,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks,
    would any degradation be any worse than component quality?
    I am thinking of going the 32" first, give it to my parents when I'm ready and then get the 40" RPTV, since I just got a new amp and rear center.
    ps. if a TV has a VGA input, does that mean it is progressive capable?
    cheers.
    ------------------
    Yumbo - IMDVD
    [Edited last by Chris Caine on September 06, 2001 at 04:21 AM]
     
  6. Sean M

    Sean M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2000
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you use a quality transcoder like the Key Digital, there shouldn't be any (appreciable) degredation in signal quality. Key makes a lot of broadcast quality components and many folks are using the transcoder I recommended with great success with projectors with much larger screen sizes where a degraded signal would be more apparent. A VGA input doesn't necessarily mean that a TV is progressive capable, but I haven't seen any with that input that were not. It should be clearly stated in the manufacturer's specs if the TV can display a progressive signal or not.
    ------------------
    "Experience is the one thing you can't get for nothing." - Oscar Wilde
     

Share This Page