Can Hughes HDVR2 be used to record from Cable

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Srinivas Reddy, Oct 1, 2003.

  1. Srinivas Reddy

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 1999
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont have direct TV but can this be used to record shows from regular cable ? I like to record late night shows(Jay Leno) and watch it in the morning. Or do I need a direct TV and Tivo service for it ?. Its a great deal for $50.

    http://www.circuitcity.com/detail.jsp?b=g&oid=61469

    THanks
     
  2. Jed M

    Jed M Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It needs directv service. You can get the same price from directv which also includes installation.
     
  3. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    DirecTivos only record the DirecTV data stream. Because the signal is already digitally compressed, they do not contain an MPEG encoder like the stand alone models. This keeps the cost down, allows recording of two channels at the same time and gives you better picture quality (DirecTV uses expen$ive MPEG encoders at their head end).

    -Robert
     
  4. Srinivas Reddy

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 1999
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it the same case with Dish Network PVRs ? I was considering getting a Dish Network receiver with PVR functions, but say, after one year I switch back to cable, is my PVR useless ?

    Thanks for all the replies.
     
  5. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
     

Share This Page