Can anyone help a noobie?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by TonyWright, Feb 17, 2004.

1. TonyWright

TonyWright Second Unit

I have a new setup and I am very new to home theater. I am running a Yamaha RX-V2400. I am using Swans 6.1 for my mains and Swans R3 for my surrounds. I have a Swan C3 center channel on order, so it should be here soon. No subwoofer at this point.

I have the following settings:

Crossover is set to 60 Hz although I do not know what it should be set at.

Mains are set to large due to the lack of a sub.

Rears are set to small.

I have the receiver set to use only 4 speakers (2 mains and 2 surrounds).

The receivers bass and treble are both set to +6db which I thought was the max. (not quite sure)

I used the Yamaha YPAO feature to automatically setup my speakers.

I like the mid ranges and the highs, but the bass is just not there. I realize that the lack of a sub hurts here but even in stereo mode with a David Gray CD (higher bass) it just doesn't punch.

These main speakers each have 2 8'' woofers that I'm sure can do a better job with bass, but I think I am missing something in setup.

I did remove the plugs from the ports on the speaker cabinets so that shouldn't be a problem.

Does anyone with this receiver and/or these speakers have any helpful setup tips? Actually, any pros out there that may have any tips for me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your time and help. [​IMG]

Tony Wright

2. TonyWright

TonyWright Second Unit

Sorry for the broad questions, but it's difficult to ask since not everyone has the same setup.

3. Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley Cinematographer

Ed
    I'd try setting the crossovers at different settings, just to see if it makes a difference. Try 80 Hz and 100 Hz.
    Also, is the subwoofer turned on or off, in the receiver's setup menus? Whichever way it's set now, try it the other way and see what happens.