Can a round 18" disk get HDTV?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Marc Rochkind, Nov 28, 2002.

  1. Marc Rochkind

    Marc Rochkind Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Over and over I read that you need a multi-satellite elliptical dish to get HDTV from DirecTV. However, I assume this requirement is for getting BOTH HDTV and regular service, as they come from two different satellites.

    Suppose I want ONLY HDTV. Can I do it with a single, round dish, pointed only to the HDTV satellite?

    My thinking is that instead of installing a multi-satellite dish now, in case I want HDTV later, it may be much cheaper to put in a round disk now (to take advantage of the cheap new-installation bargains), and add a second dish later should I ever want HDTV.
     
  2. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The HD channels on DirecTV are not all on the same satellite, and they move from one to another from time to time.

    When you buy your system tell them you want the "para todos" package. This is the spanish-language channel package and requires the oval dish. Once installation is done you can cancel the Spanish package if desired. To get all the HD channels you'll also have to add the "Sat-C kit" but they'll send this to you for around $12.
     
  3. Hugo

    Hugo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Marc,
    I agree with Steve, but if you still want to point your round dish to another satellite you'll need to select elliptical dish on your directv receiver (even if you dont have it), then select the satellite you want to receive and point your dish at it. If you try to do this you won't get many channels. Sat "B" & sat "C" only have a few channels. Hope that helps.

    Hugo
     
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,296
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
     
  5. Mike_Mag

    Mike_Mag Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could someone please tell me what channels are offered by Direct TV in HD, I believ it is only 2..HBO and HDNET. Am I missing something...thanks, Mike.
     
  6. JonWB

    JonWB Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is from DirecTV's site:

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    HDTV CHANNELS ON THE DIRECTV® SERVICE

    HDNet on Channel 199
    HDNet is the world's first national all-high-definition television network, broadcasting 16 hours per day — every day. HDNet offers live sports including NHL and MLB games, movies, concerts and much more.

    HDNet programming is currently available to all DIRECTV customers with HDTV receiving equipment at no additional monthly programming cost.

    HBO® HD on Channel 509
    The HBO® HD channel airs continuously and delivers blockbuster movies and original programming from Home Box Office — all in high-definition format.

    SHO HDTV on Channel 543
    Showtime's East Coast SHO HDTV channel offers SHOWTIME® Originals and theatrical hits around the clock. Showtime's Networks broadcasts in 1080i, the highest resolution format available today.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.

    I watch only HDNET because I'm too cheap to pay for HBO or Showtime. There is a fair amount of HD content available locally here as well off the antenna.

    Jon
     
  7. Mike_Mag

    Mike_Mag Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Jon, Thats what I thought...I am to cheap for Showtime...Portland, OR also has a good bit of local HD programming available..Thanks again..Mike
     
  8. BruceSpielbauer

    BruceSpielbauer Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with most of the above replies. The only exception would be a technicality with this information:
    >>>When you buy your system tell them you want the "para todos" package. This is the spanish-language channel package and requires the oval dish. Once installation is done you can cancel the Spanish package if desired. To get all the HD channels you'll also have to add the "Sat-C kit" but they'll send this to you for around $12
     

Share This Page