Camera film and airport scanners

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by David Ely, May 6, 2002.

1. David Ely

David Ely Supporting Actor

I'm heading off to London for a little trip. I'll be bringing with my APS camera and a bunch of rolls of ISO 400 APS film. I was wondering if I should request that the film not be scanned. I've heard a lot of conflicting stories about what those scanners can/will do to film. Maybe someone here can dismiss any of the common rumors.

2. Jeff Pryor

Jeff Pryor Supporting Actor

I used to work as a supervisor in airport security back in the early 90's. Don't let film go through the X-Ray, request that your camera pack be checked manually. You spent too much money to take any chances. Some airport screeners, especially here in the states, are lazy low-lifes that make minimum wage and don't care about you and your belongings. These people may not want to manually check your camera pack, so insists that they do so. If they continue to refuse, ask to see the supervisor or manager. Just don't give in.

3. David Ely

Is there any danger to the camera itself? I don't have a special case for my camera. I keep the film in a seperate bag (usually a ziplock bag). Maybe if I hand them the ziplock bag with the film in it they'd be more willing to check it manually (since they can already see the contents of the bag).

4. Jeff Pryor

If the camera is empty there's no danger in it being put through the X-Ray. It's the film that I worry about.

5. David Ely

Thanks Jeff. I'll have them inspect the film manually. I'd hate to come home from my trip with my picture ruined [​IMG]

6. Jeff Pryor

Have fun in London!

7. Mike Gariepy

Mike Gariepy Stunt Coordinator

Hi David,