What's new

Cambridge Soundworks Mystery (1 Viewer)

Overdriven

Auditioning
Real Name
Jeremy
I am a first time poster, so I want to that you all for joining me in this mystery today.

At the beginning of this story I have within my possession a few (2) Cambridge SoundWorks Ensemble speakers that for whatever reason produce no sound. So after watching one video of how to take one apart I am now an expert. I have not gotten my certificate yet, but I have been assured by my kids that one is on its way.

Nothing within the speaker stood out as being wrong. All connections where solid, the board had no visible scaring and no sound when the speakers are shaken. The outside is completely clean with no damage and has been in my possession for many years.

I thought maybe this was a fluke. But to have 2 of 9 not work? So I bought some on ebay (a set of 4) the user said that they all worked. When I received them I found there to be one that did not work. What are the odds? So based on that fail I just had to purchase more because of science? So I purchased a set of 5 (with accompanied subwoofer). Would you like to guess how many worked? If you answered 4 you would be correct.

So for whatever reason one out of all of the speakers that I keep buying keeps failing. I have a feeling this is a mystery that can easily be explained by an expert in speakers. Since I have not gotten that certificate I am in need of some help.

I am using an ONKYO HT-RC560 to test the speakers. I tested them by plugging the speaker wires into one speaker at a time. I checked and rechecked each one that worked and did not work. I kept the speakers low enough not to be too loud but loud enough to hear about 1 foot away. I never had anything going to the speaker until it was completely plugged in.

I would really like to close this cold case and I am hoping someone hear has an answer to this.

Martino

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Martin O.
OK - a few simple questions for you.