What's new

Cambridge Soundworks...anygood? (1 Viewer)

BobDoh

Auditioning
Real Name
Bob
I have a pair of Newton M80 speakers and an ensemble II set. I was thinking of using the M80's as fronts and the satallite speakers from the ensemble as rears and then maybe buying a cambridge SW's center and subwoofer. Just wondering what the general consensus is about Cambrdge SW? Also, I know that the M80's are much more efficient than those little ensembles. Would that be a problem in a surround sound system? I'm new at this so any info would be good. Thanks.

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
I do not know much about Cambridge beyond their computer speakers, but I will say this. Do not mix and match your mains and center. Get them all from the same manufacturer. They should all sound the same (timbre matched).

BobDoh

Auditioning
Real Name
Bob
I am planning on using CSW speakers all around. The Newton M80's for fronts, Ensemble II satallites for the rears and and then buying a new CSW center speaker and subwoofer. I'm just wondering if the new CSW stuff has gone down hill since they were bought by Creative.

Also, does anyone have an opinion on a good match of receiver for CSW stuff? I know I need a 7.1 receiver because I'm going to run some outside speakers as well as the surround sound speakers but I have no idea of which brand or how much power I'd need.

Dan Driscoll

Supporting Actor
For any newbies who might be reading this: Cambridge Soundworks is not the same company as Cambridge Audio.

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave

I'm assuming we are talking about the same company that makes the computer speakers??? I assume this since it was mentioned that Creative bought them.

BobDoh

Auditioning
Real Name
Bob
Right, I'm talking about Cambridge Soundworks not Cambridge Audio. Any input on these speakers?

Mendoza

Agent
Real Name
Jesse