What's new

Calling Hitachi owners (experts) (1 Viewer)

Tom Trz

Agent
My brand new hitachi 51swx20b had one good day...now it has a problem that is progressively getting worse...the color lightens then darkens then lightens again...it has a decidely red tinge when this occurs....I have called for a replacement but am now spooked...has anyone else experienced this problem? 6 months of research and a lot of money spent and I'm feeling anxious....:frowning:

AndyDL

Stunt Coordinator
I'm no expert, Tom, but I've been doing a lot of research on Hitachi's lately and it sounds like maybe you have the Ambient Light Sensor feature on?? From the Hitachi website:
Perfect Picture Auto Picture Adjustment
When activated via the on-screen menu, the TV will automatically sense ambient room light levels and adjust the set's contrast and color levels accordingly. It ensures accurate picture reproduction whether viewing in a dark room or bright lights.
Andy

Tom Trz

Agent
Andy, thanks for the opinion....the flashing/flickering is more extreme than what that would do...it's a very frustrating problem...I was hoping a technician type would say it's just part of the settling in process....

Ken Stokes

Agent
Tom, I've had a 65swx20b in my home for a little over a week. Out of the box the picture was horrible, after adjustment and manual focus it was breathtaking. Within 48hrs it turned to total crap and has been changing ever since. I would say there are 100hours on the set (left running when not there) and now everything is starting to settle down. There is a definite break in with these sets so bear with it for a couple of weeks. Detail is scary good and rest seems to follow.

Enjoy
Ken

Tom Trz

Agent
Thanks Ken...I will talk to hitachi tomorrow and see if this is part of the breaking in process...if so, I'll reschedule the replacement for a week to bide some time...