What's new

Calling all Electrician's.... (1 Viewer)

I'm kinda embarrassed I don't know more but I'm just starting out learning home fix-its. But I'd rather be honest.

I'm renting a very old (1908) home in downtown Seattle here. I have $7,000 worth of HT equipment and my recent purchase of Paradigm references and soon to be amp pushed me over the edge to tackling my power issues.

I currently have an average strip plug and have read AOT of threads regarding the various methods and units available. Since I've seen one lighting strike in 6 years here I'm not very worried. I'm looking at upgrading to a panamax M8-pro or 5100 to clean up my assumably?...dirty power.

My room only has one outlet and I'm pretty sure the home is NOT grounded and was just fitted with 3 prong plugs. I've heard that I may be able to attach a ground to the metal conduit that probably is run to that outlet.

What does a grounded outlet do?

How do I attach a ground wire?

How do I test if the outlet then is grounded?

How does this effect my system if it's not grounded?

I heard I should plug my new 7 channel amp straight into the outlet? Worries me further.

Sounds great to me but if I go right up and hold my ear to the 100's with the volume off on my Sony 444es I hear white noise. Could that be that I need a decent power center? The receiver?

Thanks ALOT. I want to be informed and actually know what the ramifications are here and what I can do to make this the best it can be till I buy a home here.....b

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
You can buy a little outlet tester that will plug into a receptacle and tell you if it's properly wired and grounded. Any hardware store will have one.

Your best bet would be to spend a couple hundred bucks and hire an electrician to run a dedicated line for the gear. It's a much better investment compared to ANY device like those from Panamax/Monster/etc.