What's new

Calibrations (1 Viewer)

Todd Wall

Auditioning
Where do I find out who can calibrate a set in Louisiana? Is there calibrator's in every state? The electronic stores around here, doesn't like that word. They say all you have to do is push this button, and the set calibrates itself. Calibration is old school, this is the new way.
T:frowning:

Robert P. Jones

Second Unit
That is so incredibly bogus! Have you seen the kind of picture turned out by the Magic Methods - Magic focus, Touch focus, Flash focus?

They all pale in comparison to the real thing.

Ask around.

Mr Bob

Todd Wall

Auditioning
I have never seen a comparison. Nobody I know has a big screen. I'm new to all this. The picture in the store looks great, but again, I don't know what i'm looking at. The largest tv i've ever had, is a 27". Now, I want to go to a 57". The electronic stores say they used to come out and calibrate, but not anymore, because the tv's do it themselves. Where would I find out who calibrates in my area, if the electronic stores won't?
T:D

Michael TLV

THX Video Instructor/Calibrator
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Chen
Greetings

The ISF site ... imagingscience.com is a good start.

But like every other profession out there ... there are a few good calibrators and plenty of bad ones.

The onus is on you to research and ask the right questions.

Good luck.

Regards

Jim FC

Stunt Coordinator
Todd,
Your electronics store is either full of it, or very uninformed about the products they sell... most likely a bit from both categories. I'd be hesitant to buy from somebody who misled you so grossly.