Calibrating DTS audio levels

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by TomK, Aug 28, 2001.

  1. TomK

    TomK Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 1999
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally I bought an SPL meter and calibrated my system with AVIA and Essentials. It does make all the difference vs. calibrating by ear. My system sounds great. However, I realized that there is no way to calibrate for DTS, only DD. I'm wondering if I missed something or is there another way to calibrate for DTS?
    Thanks,
    Tom
     
  2. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Calibration is calibration.
    Once you've completed the steps on your disc, you're set for any 6 channel format.
    DD, DTS, DPL2, even Pro-Logic are covered in that calibration.
    Sit back and enjoy.
     
  3. JoanPablo_T

    JoanPablo_T Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2001
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,
    In most instances I would agree with the idea that once you set for DD, Dts etc is all set. Unfortunatly some receivers/processors have a seperate LFE for DTS (mostly for music I believe) I actually have a calibration disc that is ONLY in DTS, that came directly from DTS. I used to work electronics retail and it came package with a Technics receiver-We had one open, and I yanked it [​IMG]
    It is actually really cool, and has demo material from music to movies, and the typical test tones just like in Avia/VE- pink noise, clicks, frequecy sweep etc.. But for general situations Avia / VE is just fine!
    JP
     
  4. DaleB

    DaleB Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the most part one calibration for Dolby Digital 'sets up' everything, however, I believe there is a rear channel delay for Pro-Logic not used by the other modes.
    On my receiver it is a separate adjustment, and only comes into play in the Pro-Logic mode.
    This may be automatically accounted for on other processors/receivers.
     
  5. David Judah

    David Judah Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your receiver or processor has different adjustments for DD & DTS LFE and the default settings are not at the same level(absolute level, not numerical value on the display), then you need to adjust them.
    You can approximate the levels by using one of Warner's combo discs(Twister, Lethal Weapon 1-3, Interview With The Vampire)going back and forth between the DD & DTS tracks, after your six channel levels have been set.
    DJ
    [Edited last by David Judah on August 28, 2001 at 09:36 AM]
     
  6. Jerome Grate

    Jerome Grate Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 23, 1999
    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    6
    On my Harman Kardon it allows me to use the pink noise for DD and DTS. I did realize that the sound level and sub levels were quite different, moreso in the bass area. Try and see if you can manually switch your receiver to DTS and execute the test tones. If the DTS logo or light stays on I believe that after your settings are in place, it will be different from the DD settings.
    ------------------
    If loving Home Theater is
    wrong, I don't want to be
    right!!!
     
  7. David Proud

    David Proud Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. David Judah

    David Judah Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Ultimate DVD Platinum has seperate test tones including LFE.
    DJ
     

Share This Page