Calibrating a Sony?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Francois L, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. Francois L

    Francois L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When someone is calibrating a Sony RPTV in the service menu, does he need to calibrate each input and each mode (480p/1080i)separately?
     
  2. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    No ... you can't do that ... doesn't work that way on this or any other set.

    Calibrate for signal type not input ...

    480i ... 480p ... 1080i ....

    but the sony is not really flexible to allow for that so you have to figure out a way around it ... redefine the mode settings ...

    Regards
     
  3. Francois L

    Francois L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, I have to make 3 calibrations; one for each type of signal?
     
  4. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Yes, that's the theory ... but you have to do it with the pro/movie/vivid/stand prefs ... (in the service menu)

    regards
     
  5. Francois L

    Francois L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, now I see! Thank's
    What's about the convergence? Is it constant regardless of the signal type?
     
  6. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    No ...There is one for HD and one for 480 type ... (and the different stretch modes.)

    Regards
     
  7. Francois L

    Francois L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's what I was afraid from. But why does the convergence change with the signal format? What's the logic behind that?
     

Share This Page