Calbrating Speakers ... HELP :)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JamesMartin, Aug 22, 2001.

1. JamesMartin

JamesMartin Extra

I am pretty new to home theater, I have only had my equipment for a couple of weeks and I have tried to calibrate my receiver and speakers by ear and though I had they set quite nicely. Then I start reading about using a SPL (?) meter and wondered how much better they would sound if I did it right. My question is how do I do it right? Here is what I know so far, please set me straight if I am wrong. BTW I have a Onkyo TX-DS595, 5 Klipsch Quintet speakers and a Klipsch KSW-10 sub.
    1-get the meter from radio shack (How much $?)
    2-Set the first speaker to 0db (I think it is the left one).
    3-Get into my "listening position" and point the meter towards the center and up at a 45 degree angle. Then adjust the volume knob until that speaker reached 75db.
    4-set all the rest of my speakers to 75db by adjusting them on the receiver +/- 10db.
    5-Set my sub to 75db? 85db?
    6-ENJOY!!!!!
    Does any of this sound remotely right? Wrong? Keep in mind that I am new to all of this and until tonight I have no idea even what a SPL meter looks like.
    Also should I buy a test tone disk or use the tones from my receiver? Any tips will be greatly appriciated.
    Thanks in advance
    James

2. Chris Rock

Chris Rock Supporting Actor

Go get the Avia Guide to Home Theater on DVD. You can find it online, and even at stores like Best Buy for $40-$50. It tells you everything you need to know about how to calibrate your system with an SPL meter.
    ------------------
    "You advance yourself only by my good graces."

3. Mike__D

Mike__D Supporting Actor

Hey James,