Cable Volume Gets TOO Loud

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by John_Graz, Dec 30, 2005.

  1. John_Graz

    John_Graz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure where to put this question. The past few weeks my Cable audio volume on BOTH Analog and Digital get very loud on random commercials and some Premium channel movies.

    Could this be my reciever (Kenwood VR-309) or Cable Digital Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8000 problem OR just a bad signal from Time-Warner ?

    Anyone else experience something similar ?

    I was going to call the Time - Warner tech support but I was wondering what you experts thought first !

    Thanks !

    Happy New Year [​IMG]
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Normal... There is no great way to help with it either.
     
  3. JeffLab

    JeffLab Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get used to it. Annoying? Yes. I've learned over time to instinctively reach for the mute button when shows break for commercial.
     
  4. Dick Knisely

    Dick Knisely Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get a TiVo or other DVR and skip the darn commercials![​IMG]

    Seriously, as the other guys said, this is unfortunately a normal condition. Each program originator sets the audio levels according to what they want, well theoretically within some pretty loose standards anyway. The movie channels issue may be a little different. Those channels are often sending a surround sound (Prologic) mix which will be decoded by the AVR. On most other channels its a stereo signal. On my setup I notice that the opposite of you -- a surround signal tends to result in a lower audio level and I have to turn it up a few dB.
     
  5. Westly T

    Westly T Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 1999
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem I have is Dolby 5.1 is much quieter then 2.0, so each time it switces, the volume jumps....like at commericals or when switching channels.
     
  6. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does for me, on OTA HD feeds as well....

    I have not found a good way to deal with it.
     
  7. John_RO

    John_RO Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ditto. Record your shows and watch them the next day. That way you can skip through the commercials. If you do watch a live program, just keep the remote handy.
     

Share This Page