Cable Management

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Gau, Jun 9, 2004.

  1. Gau

    Gau Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does anyone know where to get a cable management system, like one of those ribbed 1"-2" tubes with a slit down the center that you can gather all the cables into?
    I have so many cables running behind my tv and computer that its driving me nuts.

    i ran a search for "Cable management" and didnt come up with anything. If anyone could tell me what else it could be called maybe my search could be better.
    thanks
     
  2. Shane Morales

    Shane Morales Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can try your local auto parts store
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,221
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    I’ve had better luck getting large-diameter split-loom from the auto parts stores than the electronics parts outlets. But that was back before the Internet. [​IMG]

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  5. Mort Corey

    Mort Corey Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Radio Shack carries it as does Staples. Suggest you keep your power and andio/video wires separated in different tubes.

    Mort
     
  6. Gau

    Gau Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the headsup Mort. I will seperate the power from the signals.
    I'm going to check home depot and radio shack tonight to see what I can scrounge up.
     
  7. Dean_S

    Dean_S Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Fry's has it in the larger diameter. I don't know if they have it on their online store (www.outpost.com). I use a combination of this loom and those velcro ties. Be aware that Home Depot seems to be a ripoff on the velcro ties and most are 5 or 6 to a package for $5, but they also sell a roll of 50 (25 black, 25 gray) for just a few dollars more. I used 20+ just hooking up my TV, Directv recv, preamp, amp, DVD and sirius tuner and then loomed everything that is not inside the cabinet (behind the TV).
     
  8. Adam Gregorich

    Owner

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 1999
    Messages:
    15,862
    Likes Received:
    740
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    The Other Washington
    Real Name:
    Adam
    Check out one of our sponsors CableOrganizer.com They have all sorts of cool cable management solutions, plus you would be supporting the forum at the same time
    [​IMG]
     
  9. MonicaT

    MonicaT Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know where I can find pics of how a HT would look like with cable management? Thanks
     
  10. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is some advice on cable management:

    Put your reciever on the bottom shelf. This will let the speaker wires flow away from things without being near the interconnects.

    (Put the other un-touched devices like Sat reciever/CATV box above the reciever. Save the top shelves for components you touch like the DVD or Game system).

    Look at the back of all your electronics and pick a side where most of the AC power cords come out. Put a power-strip on this side and run your AC cords to this far-side of your rack. ( A nylon cable tie for the topmost device can create a "tree" that all the other power cords can attach to.

    Now you can let the interconnects dangle down the middle or use velcro straps/plastic loom to loosely bundle things. Do not tightly bundle your interconnects. We have had some members do this and notice interference problems.

    Another idea: Label both ends of your power cords with a simple A/B/C.. so you know which plug goes to which device.

    I had just put all my AC power cords in a wire-loom and a week or so later my Sat Reciever started having trouble. I called Dish tech support and after a few minutes of playing, I was instructed to un-plug the reciever from the AC power to allow the reciever to reset.

    6 plugs...all black...in a thick bundle of wire loom (sigh) Murphys law of cable management strikes again.
     
  11. MonicaT

    MonicaT Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for your tips, Bob. They were really helpful. I just asked for a pic because I would not know if I am doing the right thing here. If the receiver cannot be placed at the bottom (on my rack the 3rd shelf from the bottom has an extra support and I thought it would be safer for the receiver since it is the heaviest component.Although closer to the bottom would be better for balance) can I use a slit wire loom for the speaker wires? I was just wondering if I could see how the
     
  12. DelRay

    DelRay Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FWIW Best Buy carries braided cable wrap. Not real cheap but has a nice look to it.
     

Share This Page