Cable from subwoofer to AV receiver

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Wil Lee, Sep 16, 2003.

  1. Wil Lee

    Wil Lee Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I just use any ordinary AV cable to hook up the subwoofer to the AV receiver? I'm currently using a mono cable, but had to option of getting a digital one. Considering, it's only the subwoofer, am I wrong to think the cable doesn't make a difference?
     
  2. Thomas Willard

    Thomas Willard Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    A standard 75 ohm shielded cable with RCA phono plugs will work fine to connect the LFE output of your receiver to the line input of your sub (I am assuming it is a powered sub).
     
  3. Wil Lee

    Wil Lee Extra

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if I'm understanding you. Currently, I've hooked up the receiver to the sub's "LFE out" with a "mono AV cable". The sub works just fine. I had the option of using a "Y-splitter" to connect to the sub's L and R inputs. The botton line is does it matter which connection I use for the sub, just as long as it's working right?
     
  4. Vincent_S

    Vincent_S Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hook it into either the L or R input. It doesn't matter. No "Y" adapter needed.
     
  5. Tuan Le

    Tuan Le Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just curious why every single hometheater store I've seen uses the "Y" spliter on their sub left/right connections???

    Thanks
    -Tuan
     
  6. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Use the Y adapter. This increases the input voltage to the sub, which will resulit in a slight improvement in response. It will not give you a gain in SPL, because the calibrated SPL will be the same either way.
     

Share This Page