1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Cable for Dish Network

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brooks, Feb 19, 2003.

  1. Brooks

    Brooks Extra

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm still building the room that will house my theater so this is the first of many, many basic questions.
    We will be getting a Dish Network set up when we finish the home theater. Since the room is in the basement I need to pre-install the coax to bring the dish signal to the location where the Dish receiver will live. Dish Network says any old RG-6 is ok with them. Anyone have experience to tell me if the ISAT REF cable from Monster or some similar "premium" coax will be worth the extra cost? My run will be >30' and
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,318
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I used RG-6 quad shield from Home Depot to wire for satellite and video distribution. I've got almost a 100 foot run from the dish to the receivers and my signal strength is in the high 80's to mid 90's on all of the CONUS transponders.

    -Robert
     
  3. Morlan Liu

    Morlan Liu Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are using a Dish Pro LNB which is common if you have a new Dish Network system then it will support up to 200 ft. cables so you have nothing to worry about. I have three receivers: 1) 100 ft, 2) 140 ft, 3) 120 ft. No problems!
     
  4. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,222
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
     

Share This Page