Cable Distances

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Sam P, Feb 10, 2004.

  1. Sam P

    Sam P Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello to all,
    I just purchased a new wide screen HD TV last week. I need to relocate my audio equipment. What would be the max distance that i can run my video component and audio cable from the Tv to the Amp without loosing too much signal.
    thanks
    SAM
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Sam,

    You’ll probably have better luck if you post your question in our Audio/Video Sources Forum.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  3. Ty P.

    Ty P. Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My component cables run 35' (in walls & ceiling) from receiver to TV. Picture looks great.

    Ty
     
  4. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    (Actually "Tweeks and Connections" is a good place for cable info)

    Companies roll out 100 ft of coax and brag about the performance. So anything under 100 ft should be fine.
     
  5. JasonMilch

    JasonMilch Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I concur. Although there will always be degradation of the signal when running distances, there's no way you'll notice it.
     
  6. Sam P

    Sam P Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks to all
     

Share This Page