What's new

Cable box & picture setting help needed (1 Viewer)

Michael.M.C

Stunt Coordinator
I am not a novice but can't solve this one without assistance from those of you with the vast knowledge I know exists here!! :D

My HT setup includes a Samsung plasma 42" widescreen. It came with a tuner but my cable company (Armstrong in Western PA) told me I had to use theirs, at a cost of course.

I have digital & HDTV service although I receive only a half dozen HD stations. All of that (except for some volume fluctuations) works perfectly.

That said, I need a machine to record one program while I watch another. My cable company offered me yet another digital box called a PVR, for an additional fee, but it only records what you are watching. Not what I want.

Is there another recommended setup or another box available. Should I somehow set a recorder before the cable hits the box? It would be nice to be able to return their box completely.

Another problem:

While watching DVD's, most have excellent picture quality on the Samsung but a few are grainy. For example, Pretty Woman was not the best of pictures watching it last night. It was almost as if the picture was trying to sharpen but could not succeed. Am I missing a setting or is it just that the older DVD's were not made to play in HD?

Thanks for your help!!:D

DaelS

Auditioning
i have hooked up to cable boxes to my set in the past to get around exactly this problem. in my case, it was with bell expressvu satellite, but the principle is exactly the same.

in your case, cable goes into both decoder/tuner boxes, each box then routes into input1 and input2 respectively. (am operating under the assumption that you have two inputs that can handle cable feed). when you want to record, the PVR records, and if you want to watch a different show, you flip to input2 and watch using that feed.