What's new
  • Announcing New Ownership at Home Theater Forum. Learn More

Bypassing the "sml spkr" 40 Hz crossover for "full range" mains (1 Viewer)

marklizard

Auditioning
Real Name
Mark Varney
My Mirage M3si mains go down to about 30 Hz +/- 3db and I really don't want to give up any bandwith to my Energy sub that hits 20 Hz -3db. I know this might sound like splitting hairs to some of you who are fine with a 40 Hz crossover for your mains but my Mirage M3sis sound great without a sub and I'd rather the sub handled only those main frequencies below the Mirages, plus bass frequencies the surrounds and center speaker miss, with some necessary overlap, of course. I want to share how I have figured I might be able to get around the 40 Hz crossover limitation and I'd love to have you home theater savants with audiophile IQs above 180 to wade in on this since I am a newbie and want to raise my own such IQ. As my mains are biampable, I figure I will run my Marantz sr5005 mains speaker wire to the Mirage top ends and set them as "large" (meaning no main frequency going to the sub). Then I will run a cable from the main preamp thru a comparable (sound quality) second amp, out the second amp's sub output to a Behringer Feedback Destroyer set to cut anything above 33 Hz (or thereabouts), then to the Energy sub via a Y connector that will also be connected to the Marantz sub out. The second amp would also power the bottom end of the Mirages. Theoretically, then I would probably get a slightly better sound out of my now biamped Mirage mains, have the benefit of them sounding like unadulterated "large" speakers with no inhibiting Marantz 40 Hz crossover, and have the Energy pick up the remaining 13 Hz in addition to the cutoff bass for the surrounds and the center channel. Opinions please...remember, I am hoping to be educated so if anything I have said sounds problematic in any way, I want to know. Thanks in advance for your time.... Marantz Sr5005 Mirage M3si mains Rogers L3