Buying Toshiba 42H81 need help w/other hardware

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by John Purnell, Dec 7, 2001.

1. John Purnell

John Purnell Auditioning

Hi everybody, I'm brand new to this thread so I apologize if any questions I ask are redundant. Getting a Toshiba 42H81, need to know a decent DVD, reciever, speaker system, that won't break my wallet. Second the house I live in had an old Bose Lifestyle system, should I just cut the wires and hook new speakers up, or should I get 16 gauge wire (or better). The store that I am getting the TV from is Tweeter, and they carry a lot of Denon, Yamaha recievers, and Mirage, Boston Accoustics, and Klipsh speakers.

My family room has a vaulted ceiling so I know I won't get the best sound possible, but I would like decent sound. Any help would be appreciated.

2. SteveBjr

SteveBjr Stunt Coordinator

It's best to post what your willing to spend for your setup. Some hardware is cheap to other people whereas it's very expensive to me [​IMG]

3. John Purnell

John Purnell Auditioning

Yes, you are right. Well for a DVD = $200-300, Reciever = $500-600, Speakers = really no clue. I can imagine the whole system would run around $2,000 just for these three parts. It looks like I'll probably go to Home Depot to get the speaker wire; from what I can read from past threads this is not a bad idea and saves on $.

4. Brian Glaeske

Brian Glaeske Stunt Coordinator

How about?

DVD PlayerPanasonic RP56$220
    A/V RecieverOutlaw 1050$500
    SpeakersJBL Studio$1000

Brian

5. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Hi John. Welcome to HTF!

Well for the electronics, you are going to want a Progressive Scan DVD player to go with that Toshiba. Make sure you get this on whatever unit you decide upon.