buying RAM from EBay?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by James_Kiang, Sep 17, 2004.

  1. James_Kiang

    James_Kiang Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Dell P3 1.0 GHz system. I can't remember off the top of my head if I have 256 MB of RAM or 512. Regardless, I was thinking of adding another 512. I see online the PC133 SDRAM chips are going for about $75, but on Ebay they are only $40 or so. Do you guys feel pretty comfortable about buying RAM this way? I'm a little wary, though the price is very attractive...
     
  2. DaveGTP

    DaveGTP Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would feel OK about it, as long as it was name brand RAM (i.e. Corsair, Crucial, PNY, etc). RAM is pretty durable and long-lasting. The prices on PC133 do suck these days.

    If you are running 512MB now, I don't think an extra 512 would help much (are you running XP, 98 ?). But if you are at 256 you would definitely benefit from upgrading a bit.
     
  3. James_Kiang

    James_Kiang Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running Windows XP. I'll have to check my RAM tonight. Is there a way to find out what mobo I am using without opening the case? Is it in Control Panel->System?
     
  4. ScottHH

    ScottHH Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your Dell should have a Service tag on it (maybe on the side). You can go to www.dell.com and type in the service tag number, that should provide you with a page with the original specs of your computer, including the mobo.
     
  5. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    18,955
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Catfisch Cinema
    Real Name:
    Dave
    Dell computers require specific RAM chips. You need to make sure the RAM you're looking at is the right type for your computer.

    (I've got a Dell P3 450. I added more memory a few years ago. I bought it from Crucial, which has a nice configurator.)

    By they way, I'd love to find a 1Ghz CPU to upgrade my machine. Ever see any SECC (Slot 1) 1 GHz chips on E-bay?
     
  6. Alf S

    Alf S Banned
    BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    3,477
    Likes Received:
    621
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Alfer


    Download the tiny app from Belarc.com and it will tell you almost EVERY detail about what's in your PC.

    Alfer
     
  7. James_Kiang

    James_Kiang Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm glad I checked the Crucial site that DaveF linked to - my Dimension 4100 can only have 512 MB of RAM and that is indeed what I am at. Man, I need to upgrade this system [​IMG].
     
  8. Darryl

    Darryl Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a bad experience buying RAM off of eBay. It wasn't what was advertised. I never had the situation resolved to my satisfaction and ended up with a useless stick sitting in a drawer. Not to say you'll have the same problem, but IMO you should never buy anything from eBay if it would be a big deal for you to just lose your money.
     

Share This Page