Buying Nikon SLR - couple of questions

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by AndyVX, Jan 29, 2003.

1. AndyVX

AndyVX Supporting Actor

Hello,

I was looking at buying either the Nikon F80 or F65.
    These were the two models I was looking at on Nikon Canada's website. Are these the same as the N80 and N65 listed on the Nikon USA website?

Also, can anyone let me know what the main differences are between these two cameras in plain english? I'm new to photography, so I'm not really able to grasp what all the listed specs mean.

If anyone knows off-hand of any good websites for newbies to SLR photography, please let me know.

Thanks a bunch.

2. Tom Meyer

Tom Meyer Second Unit

Andy --

yes, the F80/65 are the same as N80/65. The "N" versions are the US names.

As far as the differences, the ones that really probably matter are:

metering The "matrix" metering mode (where the frame is divided into segments and the exposure determined over the entire frame) has 6 segments in the N65, while the N80 has 10. This will allow, in general, more accurate auto-exposure settings. The N80 also has 'spot' metering, which allows you to take an exposure reading from a very small area, while the N65 does not. This might come in handy if you wanted to, say, sillouette someone against a bright sky -- you'd spot meter the sky, lock the exposure, and shoot. The sky would be properly exposed, while the person would be drastically underexposed.

shutter speeds N80 - 30sec - 1/4000; N65 30 sec - 1/2000. Having a faster maximum shutter speed allows you to shoot in very bright light more easily and can stop motion more effectively than a slower shutter speed. Normally 1/2000 vs. 1/4000 won't matter, but you never know.