Buying anew Mistsubishi, need help

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JoeWat, Oct 1, 2002.

1. JoeWat

JoeWat Auditioning

Bare with me I'm new to all this HDTV stuff.

I'm looking to buy a new HDTV and have decided on a Mitsubishi 55". Now the issue is which model? So far I have found at my local dealer a 55869 which I think is 2002 Plat plus model? The sales guy was really trying to convince me that this TV is the bomb. He tells me that it's actually got some of the same guts that the diamond series comes with. Something about having the same chasis? I have no idea what he's talking about. I wanted to get the 55411 and just use my Warner cable for HDTV. Is that not good? Then I was thinking about spending a little more and getting the 55511. But lookingat the stats on the Mits web site, it seems that the 55411 comes with more features than the 55511. Excluding the built in tuner. So I'm just as confused as when I started. hopefully some of you can help set me straight so I can go buy this Tv and start enjoying some HDTV !!!!

Thanks again...

2. BruceSpielbauer

BruceSpielbauer Second Unit

Here are a couple of things I am certain of...

When comparing this year's to last year's, you must completely ignore the terms "Platinum," "Platinum Plus," and even "Diamond." Mits dropped the analogs, which means they could now use the "Silver" and "Gold" names for thir digital sets, and they chose to do this. They added these to the mix, and bumped the others all over the place. This means the name designations usually have NO relationship to what they meant with the older, 2001-2002 sets.

Now, I am familiar with the following sets from the older models:

Platinum:
    55" WS-55859 (a 55" set) (This set has the HDTV tuner)

Platinum Plus Series:
    55" WS-55819 (a 55" set) (No tuner)
    65" WS-65869 (a 65" set) (This set has the HDTV tuner)

Diamond Series:
    55" WS-55908 (a 55" set) (No tuner)