What's new

Burn in and Squeeze questions (1 Viewer)

Steve_Tk

Senior HTF Member
Sorry I'm new at all this.

Burn in: If I buy a 4:3 TV, and I only watch widescreen movies, will I get burn in on a digital TV. On my TV now I always watch movies and have not noticed a problem, but my contrast and brightness are pretty low.

Squeeze: I think I know what squeeze is on 16:9 tvs. it's where they squeeze the 4:3 picture to make it 16:9 and may look a little distorted. But what is squeeze on 4:3? Is it where people watch widescreen movies but use a "squeeze" and it fills the whole picture so you don't see black bars? wouldn't the people look very skinny and tall?

My DVD player is just run into the video port on my tv. When I watch a movie I don't have to adjust anything, the black bars just vary in size according to however wide the "widescreen" is. CAn't you just do this with any 4"3 tv?

And why do you need a progresive scan DVD player? Why is squeeze always associated with anamorphic DVD's

Sorry for so many questions.

If burn in is really just a problem with Rear projection then what kind of TV do you buy that's not rear projection.

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
You have to be careful about burn-in with RPTV and FPTV more because the ratio of the CRT square inches to the screen square inches is so much greater compared with direct view (1:1). The CRT's in projection TV have to emit lots more light to get the same amount of light per square inch on the screen. The amount of energy involved with projection TV is so great that the lenses mounted on the CRT faces contain cooling liquid. It is the heat that builds up in the process of making enough light to put on the screen that literally burns the phosphors and the glue that holds them on the face of the CRT.
If for projection TV you can keep the contrast under 1/3 you should get reasonably long life from the set.
Everything in this post applies equally to progressive scan and regular interlaced video.
Video hints: