What's new

building sub....... please help a first timer (1 Viewer)

Joe Meissner

Stunt Coordinator
In a previous post http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...threadid=60956
I asked about building a sub. well here is the dimmensions i have come up with that will work in my living room
18Wx14Dx25.5H = 3.17^3 using 3/4 inch mdf correct?
so with some bracing what would be a good driver for this setup a dvc15 front firing or a 12 inch shiva down firing.
also i am not good with the software so what would the port length need to be to get in the 20hz zone with each driver. I will be using a 120watt plate amp for now until i can afford the pe250 watt amp.
would 120 watts be enough power to get the dvc15 in a sealed box of that size down in the 20hz range?
is it even worth building before i can afford the pe250?
thanks
Joe

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member
18Wx14Dx25.5H = 3.17^3 using 3/4 inch mdf correct?
Well, if those measurements are internal.. it would actually be 3.71 cuft. If those are external measurements, the internal space (w/ 3/4" MDF) would be 2.86 cuft.

If you are going to introduce bracing and a port, you need to account for those taking up space inside your enclosure.

FYI: Just plugging the driver specs into ISD online, I see a sealed enclosure @ 3.71 cuft yields a slightly flatter response as a 3.71 ported enclosure with very little sacrifice in bass extension.

Joe Meissner

Stunt Coordinator
O.K. i just started puting my box together. right now the inside dimensions are 16.5w X 15d X 24.5h = 3.51^3 correct?
I am wondering what the formula is for figuring out the ^3 when you add bracing, 4" port & the driver.
here is the driver i will be using. a freind is selling me this driver for $50. is this a good deal for home theater or should i just wait and get a shiva? any input would be great.
Spl160_1_lg.jpg

specs
Frequency Response (Hz) 25-500
Sensitivity (2.83v/1m) 96 dB
Impedance (nominal Z, ohms) 2
Rated Program Power, Watts 800
Fs (Hz) 28
Qts .33