What's new

building sub, may want to build mains but with what? (1 Viewer)

Shawn Solar

Supporting Actor
Even though I'm not done building my sub, I think after I finally do finish it I want to try to build front speakers. If nothing else than for $h!ts and giggles.

I have Paradigm reference 40's and want something a bit different. I want to try softdome tweeters and keep the woofers within the 6.5" arena and want to have bass into the 50-60hz range. I need something that keeps the detail of the 40's but with a slightly warmer laid back sound. The catch is I would like it too keep it cheap as possible.

I Have no soldering experience but can learn. boxes are not a problem. I think I should stay with a kit rather than create my own. I have heard of a few brands to choose from but I guess I am looking for feedback on the sonic qualities of the different brands. Its hard to choose when you can't hear them first.

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
I want to try softdome tweeters and keep the woofers within the 6.5" arena and want to have bass into the 50-60hz range. I need something that keeps the detail of the 40's but with a slightly warmer laid back sound. The catch is I would like it too keep it cheap as possible.
Try Speakerbuilder.net. These designs use inexpensive Dayton drivers from PE. The DIII in particular uses a soft dome tweenter and a pair of 6.5" woofers in a MTM configuration. I helped a friend build one for a center channel and the bass is surprisingly good for "cheap" 6.5" speakers. I'm still working on my three DIIIs. There are more reviews over at the PE Tech Talk board.
-Robert

jeff lam

Screenwriter
Real Name
Jeff Lam