What's new

Building starting system - Kit281 the best choice? (1 Viewer)

Michael R Price

Screenwriter
I am a high-school student looking to put together a reasonably good stereo system. Why did I post in the DIY forum? Because I am considering using the Adire Kit281 as the basis of the system. My total system budget is probably between $600-800 total, and I would like to get the best possible performance for my money just like everyone else. What I have tentatively planned at this point is to buy a used integrated amplifier and CD player from a friend/family or Ebay, and build Kit281V speakers. Right now I'm thinking over two things: the cost distribution of the system (~75% for speakers, and relatively small amount for components) and the choice of speakers in the $500 range.
I listen to a variety of music, mostly light-to-medium rock and classical. What I am looking for is a system that provides me with reasonably full-range (say, preferably down to around 40Hz or lower in room) response and realistic reproduction of music with a well-defined, clear sound and good soundstaging. (Sadly, the only decent speakers I've ever had a chance to listen to are the original Large Advent, the JBL S38, Allison AL115, and the Klipsch RB-5. Of those, I like the Klipsch the best for its 'forward' sound and transient impact.) While I don't usually listen at very high (95dB+) volume, I would like to have capability to do so anyway. The room the system will be in (my bedroom) is about 11x14ft, and a convienient location places the speakers about 5 feet apart and 7 feet away from the 'listening position' (bed).