What's new

Building my own Towers (1 Viewer)

Jon Cheung

Stunt Coordinator
Hey guys, I'm thinking about building some of my own towers in the next month but first I wanna know how difficult it will be. Here's my plan (sorry if I'm too vague). I'm gonna get all Focal drivers, 1 driver (most likely 12 inch), 1 mid, and 1 tweater for both towers, build the box, etc. I'm new to this but I do have experience with building boxes but it was for car audio. How difficult would it be and what kind of components are needed to create this? Thanx!!!

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
Building the tower is the easy part. Designing the crossover is the hard part. Best drivers out there will sound aweful with a poor crossover. GR Research uses drivers that are $25 a piece, but with exceptional crossovers (one user on this forum traded in PSB Goldi towers for a $300 GR Research Kit).

I plan to stick with kits or designs from guys who really know their stuff. I doubt I'll ever get into it enough that I would be able to design a decent crossover.

Designing good crossovers requires a lot of knowledge, some good measuring equipment and a lot of experience. If you plan to make a hobby of this, I'd start with a simple two way bookshelf design and work my up from there. If you want to build a great set of towers you intend to use for a long time stick with a kit or a proven design.

Hank Frankenberg

Senior HTF Member
Why are you set on using Focal drivers. They are difficult to design with (crossovers), so unless you have a friend with lots of experience in crossover/system design, I recommend you buy a kit that has been professionally designed that includes drivers and crossovers. My 2 cents.

Chris Carswell

Supporting Actor