Building My First HTPC

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Dalton, Apr 3, 2004.

1. Dalton

Dalton Screenwriter

Dalton
    Well i am doing a total revamp of my HT Video system(upgraded audio a few months back). I just ordered a DLP projector(Benq pb6200) and decided to demote my Pioneer 563 to DVD Audio/SACD duties. I have been building my own computers for a few years now and decided i would build my first HTPC. I wanted to build one for my old 56" 16x9 set but never got around to it. I figured since i was getting into front projection now would be the perfect time to build an HTPC. Well anyways here are the components i ordered(should all be here by Wednesday):

1. Asus P4P800-VM Motherboard
    2. Intel P4 2.8ghz processor w/1MB Cache(Prescott Core)
    3. Seagate 160GB Hard drive w/8MB Cache
    4. Soundblaster Audigy 2 for DD/DTS passthrough
    5. 512MB Kingston DDR PC3200 memory
    6. Samsung 16x DVD drive(quietest one i found after some research)
    7. Coolermaster black desktop case with fold down front cover(has that "audio component look")
    8. Radeon 9500pro 128MB Video Card (already had this card)
    9. Windows XP Home SP1 Full Version (bought this a few months back so i might as well use it)
    10. TheaterTek software for DVD playback

I plan on hooking this machine up to my network also so i can access my scores of music and videos from my 2 other machines. I was gonna put a DVD writer in but my Athlon 2500+ machine already has one. I wanted to keep this system fairly simple yet powerful and stable enough to use in my HT. I don't currently use a PVR but i may add a Video Capture card for recording in the future. I am starting to run out of funds so this setup will be it for now. Thoughts? Anything i might have left out?

2. Scott L

Scott L Producer