What's new

Building Crossover (1 Viewer)

Right now I'm in the process of building my crossovers...but I'm having some troubles.

Will it really matter what size wire I have running to the drivers? The two drivers are the Seas P16REX and 25TAC/D. I have 12 gauge wire now, but soldering three pieces of it is going to be a pain. Would using 16 for the tweet and 14 for the mid be ok?. This would allow me to know which one is which too. The wire coming into the crossover will still be the 12 gauge.

Can anyone give me some helpful suggestions in general to building crossovers? This is my first time building these (have soldered before) things, so I want them to be good.

Thanks

Jeremy

Jonathan_D

Stunt Coordinator
Considering the distances involved, I don't think you'll notice a difference between using 12ga all around and 16 ga all around.

Mark Hayenga

Supporting Actor
16ga wire is fine. 12ga is a pain to solder and isn't really going to gain you anything for only a foot-long run.

I build crossovers on 1/4" hardboard. Cut a small section (say 4x6 inches) and play around with parts layout, making sure to orient the inductors at 90 degrees to each other. I usually affix inductors and resistors to the board with hot glue, and the caps get glued down with Liquid Nails for small projects (caps won't survive the hot glue temp). You may want to use plastic ties on the heavier inductors. Sand the inductor leads to get rid of the enamel covering before affixing them to the board. Use colored hookup wire and mark each wire with the appropriate connection (ie T+, TGND, W+, etc). Use a big iron (40+ watts) as multiple wire connections can really sink heat away from the joint, and you'll end up heating the cap leads too much and the joint not enough.

HTH,

Mark_E_Smith

Second Unit
What Mark says plus,

Try not to put your inductors next to each other(opposite ends of the x-over board), and install them perpendicular to each other. ie I- or IO not II or =.