building a sub????

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by RyanY, Feb 24, 2004.

1. RyanY

RyanY Auditioning

I'm wanting to build a subwoofer to go along with my Klipsch RF-7's. I have little experience in choosing speakers for home stereo, almost all my experience has been putting together car stereos and subs. I found a 1000 watt sub on sale at parts express (part # 300-808). I like the amp because it has a built in cross-over. However, I am having trouble finding/choosing speakers. I would like to use dual 12's or maybe a single 15. So if anyone has any particular brand or information in choosing a sub it would be greatly appreciated. I could also use some help in designing an enclosure. I have a lot of experience in building cabinets and furniture so I wouldn't have a probably building the proper enclosure for the subs. I have also toyed with the idea of building the subwoofer into a couch or a couple chairs if multiple subs are used. Any help is appreciated since I basically know very little about choosing parts to build a home stereo.
    Thanks for the help
    Ryan

2. Travis Cain

Travis Cain Stunt Coordinator

A little more information will be helpful..

1. How much are you looking to spend? (including amp, & driver(s) but not the cabinet)
    2. How big of a box can you tolerate?
    3. How big is the room it will be used in? (L x W x H)
    4. What will it be used for mostly? (Home theater or music)

3. RyanY

RyanY Auditioning

1) I would like to spend no more than about $600-650 if possible, although i could probably spend a little more if it would significatly improve the quality and overall function of the subwoofer. [The 1000 watt amp I found on parts express was on sale for ($350)]
    2) I can tolerate almost any size of box, i'm more interested in building an enclosure that will maximize the output of the subs and amp.