Build-it-yourself PC

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Kirk Gunn, Oct 15, 2003.

1. Kirk Gunn

Kirk Gunn Screenwriter

My apologies since this has probably been discussed ad nauseum, but my searches did not produce any results.

Looking to replace my current PII Compaq and figure the best bang-for-the-buck is to do it on my own. While I was quite adept at hardware a few years back, I've been an Exchange Admin for the past 3 yrs so a little out of the loop on recent hardware advances.

Since I just got the Sony VTR350 digital camcorder that has an analog-digital converter, I will need decent video performance, firewire, ample drive space with good streaming performance, plus a DVD-Burner. I also figure at least 1GB of RAM since I'll be getting VMWare to perform some work testing.

Any comments on what/where to purchase are appreciated !
    Thanks

2. DougKuhn

DougKuhn Stunt Coordinator

www.newegg.com is a good resource for buying hardware. Good pricing and fast delivery.

3. Christian Behrens

Christian Behrens Supporting Actor

Christian Behrens
  4. Scott L

Scott L Producer

I'd grab a Pentium 4 with the 800Mhz bus and an Asus motherboard. For ram check out www.crucial.com, select your motherboard and grab 2 sticks of 512 DDR to take advantage of that dual channel design.

2 harddrives- A 30-60gig for OS and program files, and a big one for your DV editing files. This way when you change, delete, and convert all of your captures, your OS and programs will still load fast because only the 2nd HD will need a weekly/monthly defrag. The 1st HD should be 7200rpm, the 2nd one can be either/or.

www.newegg.com | www.directron.com | www.zipzoomfly.com | www.pricegrabber.com

5. BenSC

BenSC Stunt Coordinator

Personally, I'd shy toward the Athlon XP's right now. They have the same specs as the P4's and are wads cheaper. They do however run hotter and have slightly louder fans by default on their heatsinks.